CUPP, Kaduna rejects governorship results - AMEBOTV BLOGS



CUPP, Kaduna rejects governorship results

Share This

Governor Nasir El-Rufal of Kaduna State

The Coalition Of United Political Parties (CUPP) Kaduna state branch, an umbrella of 37 political parties and 18 governorship candidates, has rejected the outcome of the gubernatorial elections in the state.

Chairman of CUPP, Hon. Umar Farouk Mairaqumi said the rejection of the election is based on the fact that the election in some local government areas was marred with lots of irregularities.

“The Smart Card Readers (SCR) were not used in some parts of the state namely: Igabi, Kaduna South, Kaduna North. Giwa, Lere, Birnin Gwari and Soba local government areas respectively.”

“Over 650 polling units with over 400,000 votes were cancelled and our agents reported at various collation centres but INEC decided to ignore our complains and went ahead to announce the results,”

“It is in the light of the above that we the 37 political parties and 18 governorship candidates that participated in the gubernatorial election in Kaduna State hereby reject the result in its totality  and we shall pursue all lawful means to ensure  justice is done to the people of Kaduna State and their stolen mandate restored,” Mairaqumi said.

Governor Nasir El-rufai of the All Progressive Congress (APC) was declared the winner of the election  after polling 1,045, 427 votes beating his closest opponent Hon. Isa Ashiru Kudan of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 814,168 votes.

No comments:

Post a Comment